Child Protective Services and Foster Care protects children and enhances their well-being by supporting and strengthening families. State and Federal law require Child Welfare to:
- Receive and screen reports from the public of suspected child abuse, neglect and dependency to see if they meet legal criteria for Child Protective Services (CPS) assessments;
- Conduct CPS assessments to determine if children have been maltreated and need protective services;
- Provide protective services to help families keep children who have been maltreated safely at home whenever possible;
- Take children into foster care when no other means are adequate to protect them; and
- Quickly reunify foster children with their families whenever possible while looking for alternate permanent homes through adoption when necessary.
If you suspect a child has been abused, neglected or become dependent, contact:
Greene County Department of Social Services at 252-747-5932 Monday – Friday 8 am to 5 pm
Greene County Sheriff’s Department at 252-747-3411 Nights & weekends and ask for social worker on call.
Becoming a Foster Parent
Foster Care is temporary care for children who have the ultimate goal of returning home to their birth parents or other relatives. The length of stay in foster care varies from a few days to much longer. Foster parents play a vital role in understanding the needs of the children during these difficult times, and their help, intervention and nurturing can make all the difference to a child in need.
Potential foster parents receive 30 hours of training. The training covers topics such as child abuse and neglect, working with birth parents, and helping foster children deal with the issues they face. It also helps the potential foster parents think about how parenting another child may affect their family
Greene County foster parents represent all walks of life and all races, economic backgrounds and religions. Foster parents need to be caring individuals who understand the special needs of children who have been separated from their families. You do need to have extra time and extra patience to help a child adjust to your home and to the changes he or she is experiencing. Please call (252) 747-5932 for additional information and to complete an initial screening assessment.
- You must be a legal Greene County resident.
- You must be at least 21 years of age and in good health.
- You can be single or married.
- You must have a stable home and be able to show you are financially stable.
- You must have adequate sleeping space for a child.
- You must be able to read and write.
- You must have a telephone.
- You must be willing to submit to criminal checks, fingerprints and provide references.
- Maintain a drug free environment
- Complete all required training and be licensed by the state of North Carolina
- You must attend 30 hours of preparation group training sessions.
Annie E. Casey Foundation
Children's Services of North Carolina
Children's Services Practice Notes
NC Adoption Page
Action for Children North Carolina
NC Foster Parent Association
NC Center for Adoption Education